If you’re planning a trip to the mesmerizing landscapes of Ladakh, especially to the protected areas, it’s crucial to understand the permit requirements. Ladakh, with its proximity to the borders of Pakistan and China, has certain restrictions in place to ensure the safety of tourists and the preservation of its unique environment.

Types of Permits

Protected Area Permit (PAP)

Foreign tourists must obtain a Protected Area Permit (PAP) to visit specific regions in Ladakh. Here’s what you need to know:

  1. Group Requirement: Foreigners must be in a group of at least two people to apply for a PAP.

  2. Application Process:

    • Visit the DC Office in Leh or use the services of a registered travel agent.
    • Apply through the official website of the Leh administration or the Leh Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council (LAHDC).
  3. Duration and Renewal:

    • The permit is valid for seven days.
    • For an extended stay, reapply for the permit.
  4. Areas Requiring PAP:

    • Nubra Valley
    • Tso Moriri (Karzok)
    • Pangong Tso
    • Turtuk
    • Dah and Hanu Villages
  5. Documents and Fees:

    • Passport photocopy (front page)
    • Indian visa photocopy
    • Wildlife protection fee: Rs. 20 per person per day
    • Environment tax: Rs. 400 per person
  6. Application Assistance:

    • Registered travel agents can assist in forming groups, and solo travelers can join existing groups.
  7. Updates:

    • Check recent updates, as permits for certain nationalities may be restricted.
[adinserter block="5"]

Inner Line Permit (ILP)

Indian citizens need an Inner Line Permit for protected areas. The ILP is valid for three weeks and can be obtained online or offline.

Online Process:

  1. Visit the official LAHDC website: http://lahdclehpermit.in/.
  2. Fill in details, choose areas, and pay fees online.
  3. Take the printed form to the DC Office in Leh for stamping.

Offline Process:

  1. Visit the DC Office in Leh.
  2. Fill the form, pay fees, and get the permit stamped.

Areas Requiring ILP:

  • Nubra Valley
  • Khardung La
  • Pangong Tso
  • Tso Moriri
  • Dah and Hanu Villages
  • Man, Merak, Nyoma, Loma Bend, Turtuk, Chushul
[adinserter block="5"]

Special Cases

  1. Citizens of Specific Countries:

    • Afghanistan, Bangladesh, China, Myanmar, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka citizens need permits from the Ministry of Home Affairs in New Delhi.
  2. Diplomats and UN Members:

    • Foreigners with diplomatic passports or UN members must apply through the Ministry of External Affairs in New Delhi.

Tips and Recommendations

  1. Photocopies:

    • Make multiple photocopies of the permits for check posts.
  2. Validity:

    • The PAP is specific to a route, and tourists should not visit other areas.
  3. Renewal:

    • Reapply for the PAP after seven days if needed.
  4. Stay Informed:

    • Regulations may change, so stay updated with recent information.

Planning ahead and understanding the permit processes will ensure a smooth and enjoyable journey through the breathtaking landscapes of Ladakh. Make sure to follow the guidelines and have a memorable experience in this unique part of India.

For further details or assistance, contact your registered travel agent or visit the official KashmireX website.

You May Also Like